The Morality and Regulation in Media

Something that has caught my attention for quite a while now was how not just T.V but all of media was regulated.  So, while reading this chapter, I knew this was something I would like to conduct my next blog post about.  The definition from Dictionary.com of Morality is, “a particular system of values and principles of conduct, esp. one held by a specified person or society.”  Now this given definition gives a pretty accurate description of what I also believe morality could mean, but how can we decide what belongs in the moral category and what content is immoral.  You ask one hundred different people and I assume nearly everyone will have discrepancies on deciding which type of content should be aloud to be shown to the American community.  For example, take show like Family Guy.  Although it is a cartoon, they conceptualize real life, every day situations.  I am a person who isn’t offended by much and this show gets very close to upsetting me sometimes.  A person who has thinner skin may get a very uneasy or uncomfortable feeling form watching a few minutes of this popular television program. Periodically throughout this program, the characters make fun of the government, media regulations, and everyday situations in the crudest way possible.  As immoral a T.V as it is, it is made for entertainment purposes (and to stir up trouble with FOX) and not to influence people to go out in the world and act in the same idiotic way the characters do.  I don’t believe that people watch a show like this and go out in the real world and think that driving drunk is smart or a cool thing to do because Peter Griffin does it.  Shows like this aren’t meant to influence people to go out in the world and act as they see on T.V, they are put on cable television for entertainment. 

From a young age, adults always asked to me, “If (insert someone’s name) jumped off a bridge, would you?  I always said no and to this day have never jumped off a bridge.  I never understood why I was asked that because I know that was dangerous and I know the person who I just quoted would probably never jump off a bridge.    Viewers and critics need to realize that because we see something cruel on T.V and we know it’s a heinous thing to do, we more than likely will not go out and try to duplicate the action we watched.  All television is based off of real world events and I think no matter what program you look at, it will be less graphic than what would be happening in the real life situation.  To me, the real world carries the most impact on what someone’s views of any certain topic is.  Sure, television helps shape that opinion but what that an individual experience throughout his life at school, on the streets or around the house is what will mold is morals.  For me, I grew up with parental controls on the television, which gives a parent their own type of regulation.  Any two people in this country can define both regulation and morality differently.  Each person has their own right to be able to have morals and be able to regulate what is displayed on their television.  Whatever morality means to you is better suited to be regulated while sitting on the couch in front of a television because it sure as hell wont be regulated once you walk outside your door into the real world. 

One thought on “The Morality and Regulation in Media”

  1. Zac, I think we see eye to eye here. I couldn’t agree more with what you’re saying. I see “offensive” things on tv all the time. I see people doing absurd things on some of my favorite tv shows constantly… never once has this made me want to go out and do these things. Morality comes from a foundation that is laid for you as a kid. It’s what your parents and peers teach you is right from wrong. It has nothing to do with the fact that tv says its okay.

Leave a Reply

