Addicted to Technology

I don’t think there is doubt in anyone’s mind that technology has been a great asset to our society. Cell phones, the Internet, and many other devices and applications have made life easier and more entertaining. However, this has come at a price. Personally, I can say with confidence that a great deal of my time is mindlessly wasting using technology. In fact, I actually sat down to write this more than an hour ago, but before I could force myself to start, I browsed, Imgur, Reddit, Facebook, Twitter, my email, and various other sites where procrastination is made easy. I hate to admit it, but I am addicted to technology- and I’m sure I am not alone.

Our society’s current addiction to technology is one that represents a larger tend of addiction to entertainment. This can be seen in many aspects of our media, from the sheer number of reality TV shows to our focus on “infotainment” stories in the news. As of now, this trend is one of a negative nature. Rather than focusing on what is really going on in the world, we choose to focus merely on things that bring us pleasure. By no means is gaining pleasure from media and technology a bad thing, but when it causes us to lose focus of some of the more important happenings in the world, it puts us at a disadvantage culturally and academically. I am plenty guilty of this myself. The pursuit of pleasure through entertainment has definitely numbed me to the current events of the world, which is something that I know I need to work on.

If this trend continues to grow, it will affect not only our current generation, but the generations following. And with the rapid growth of technology in our society, I fear that there is no stopping the trend. Thus, because we cannot combat technology, as a society, we must place a renewed emphasis on the importance of knowledge outside of entertainment culture, as well as the importance of activities not involving the use of technology. We must teach our children that entertainment can be found outside of the computer or television screen and that true knowledge is more valuable than trivial pop-culture information. This will not be an easy thing to do, as our obsession with entertainment is deeply ingrained in our culture, but we must at least start to fight this. As far as I’m concerned, it is a necessary battle.

Sources

http://www.reddit.com

http://www.imgur.com

http://www.facebook.com

http://www.twitter.com

http://www.webopedia.com

4 thoughts on “Addicted to Technology”

  1. The first step is admitting it. My name is Dean and I’m a technoholic. If someone were to say that to me right now I would probably laugh. I dont think our societies addiction to technology will ever reach a point that we have with alcohol or drugs. But at what point does technology, which is made to make life easier, going to make us counter productive? Many times I have the same problem as you, I sit down open my laptop, think Ill go on reddit, facebook, or some other site for five minutes, and the next thing I know 30 minutes has flown by. Technology is great and something we have to use everyday. But just like anything else too much of a good thing can be very bad. Computers, tablets, cell phones, and the things we do on them are all still relatively new. Hopefully over time this newness will wear off and we will develop better habits for limiting our daily technology use.

  2. I appreciate with the way you introduced the subject. Again, we are all consumers of the media, even if we do see its negative qualities loud and clear. I think a lot of us can see the issues that come about with our incredible reliance on technology, and the rapid speed at which it is accumulating. I think the end piece is very important-we are the first generation to be exposed to such a magnitude of media domination, and this issue is following an upward trend. Because there is no forseeable end, it is important for us to acknowledge our power to educate other people as the media becomes even more prevalent in everyday life.

  3. Definitely valid points, and ones that I agree with. I also agree that the way you introduced the subject made it easily relatable for other people, highschool and college students in particular.
    I think there is a lot that can be traced back to the overwhelming availability of so many social outlets, most of them not so good. The most prominent in my mind is that I believe social network sites like Facebook and Twitter that, like you discussed, make procrastination not only easy but hard to avoid, is one of the main contributing factors to the mass perscription rate of Adderall, Vyvanse, and other drugs that are made to combat ADD and other attention based disorders.

Leave a Reply

